Tags

YOU GUYS! I KNOW I’M ABUSING CAPS LOCK HERE, BUT I AM SUUUUUUUPER EXCITED FOR MAY. IT’S KILLING JUNE’S RELEASE DAY!!!

51a0fqvp56l

So a couple years ago, in 2015’s #Pitchwars, I was looking for something specific. I wanted something that would appeal to a certain agent, frankly. Something that was right in line with the market, that would be a compelling, voice focused read.

Going through the slush, a couple different romances caught my eye. But this one… It had a strong voice and awesome marketability. (One of the others hitting the same combination in that pile was Kristen Lepoinka’s Last Place You Look, under an old title, so clearly my inbox that year was full of awesome novels. If they let us pick as many as we wanted, I would have had 10!) I knew it was the right one when I kept sneaking glances of it between other books. I was trying to read 3 different entries at once, seeing which was stickiest.

Killing June? Well, it was super glue to me. I couldn’t stop reading it!

And then we dove into it. May tackled every change, every challenge, with aplomb and grace. We did a lot of work on the sensory details, and as she wrote the sequels, she was able to integrate that feedback on them too. As many of my editing clients will tell you, I focus a lot on what kinds of sensory details to use. It brings the story to life, and is the HARDEST element to get right. It’s also one of the biggest reasons I see people (whether that’s agents or readers) reject a book.

She’s become not only one of my mentees, but a friend, and I couldn’t be happier for her. She’s fantastically talented, and incredibly dedicated to her work, and I am SO excited to see where her career  goes from here. Books 2 and 3 of this set (Same world/you’ll see familiar faces) will be out later this year/early next year too. And trust me when I say, while I didn’t have enough time to give them my full workup as much as the first, she has applied what she’s learned throughout them VERY well.

What are you still here for? GO READ.  Fair warning, it’s incredibly steamy.

