25943838

What attracted me to this: Dan’s a fellow Pitchwars Mentor, and I loved the idea of a portal fantasy with a lead who had his own goals outside the fantasy world. (Not to mention, we bickered a couple years ago over entries, so he’s been on my radar since for having great tastes!)

What I liked: When he’s in the other world, Alissia, Quinn’s over his head. Over the course of the novel, he comes to identify and like the people of this world that are viewed by the controlling corporation as property. It’s a nice piece of social commentary, which I love in my SF/F.

What I thought could have worked better: Sometimes I found the action rather hard to follow. It comes really fast and furious at points, and a bit more time could have been spent in describing to really flesh those out for flow.

Recommendation: Grab it!

